BCB announces BPL‘s next four-year cycle next four-year cycle during a press conference at the BCB headquarters in Mirpur yesterday. This popular league will again start its journey from December this year. It will be the seventh edition of this franchise-based T20 competition.

BCB announces BPL’s next four-year cycle

Mahbubul Anam- the director of BCB talked to media about the series. He said they are happy to announce that they are expanding the tournament for the upcoming four years.

On the other hand, the governing council of BPL made it clear during the press conference that the deals struck by franchises like Shakib Al Hasan’s high-profile move back to Rangpur Riders- has not been endorsed by the governing council as the seventh edition of the BPL will be part of a new four-year cycle.

Shakib al hasan
Shakib al Hasan is the most wicket-taker in BPL

Mr. Anam also explained that with the conclusion of the sixth edition, the first cycle of the tournament has now being considered as complete. It also marks the expiry of the tenure of the franchise agreements with the respective rights holders. The seventh edition will be part of a new cycle that will require a ‘fresh franchisee agreement/contract’. Since they have not yet made a new agreement for the second cycle, they cannot endorse whatever deals have been struck by franchises for the seventh edition.

They are going to make a fresh start with the renewed cycle. All the rules and regulations for the second cycle for a further period of four editions (7th, 8th, 9th & 10th) will be determined after the new agreement. Everybody will have a fresh start. So there will be a level playing field for all franchisee.

We hope this year’s BPL will bring joy in the mind of all the fans of our country. Stay with us to get all the updated news about cricket.